top of page

What's in my Garden!?

Updated: Jun 7, 2020

Fruits and Veggies Galore!

 

Why Garden?


My fascination with watching the results of your labour began with those little water sponges that look like animals. You know the ones you buy at the dollar store and leave in water for a few days? Yeah those!


This year, I decided to start gardening after buying a cheap herb starter set on sale at amazon.ca. The seeds grow pretty flowers and can create fantastic teas, garnishes, and add extra flavour to food! The best part of it all (for me) is watching the transformation.


There are so many benefits to creating your own garden at home. Gardening is a sustainable, therapeutic, and budget friendly activity! Keep reading to find out how I created my own at home garden!

 

My Experience


Growing your own tea+food at home can be hard work, but the results are what make it worth while:) I began experimenting with seeds back in January, 2020. I went everywhere looking for seeds but they didn't have any at home/garden stores, so I just ordered some from West Coast Seeds! This round didn't go too well for me. Click here to see how my first attempt went.


Fast forward a few months, and I've managed to begin an outdoor garden!:) To start the garden, back in late march - early April I researching what seeds work best in the zone I live in! I then began germinating seed indoors to get them as strong as possible before they were exposed to the elements!



When the chance of frost became little to none about 2 weeks ago (the 3rd week of may), I felt comfortable enough to put the plants outside! This is a little late in the season, but it's important not to transplant them before they're ready. It's so sad to see the plant, and all your hard work go to waste.


For the outdoor garden, I dug a whole in my back yard and then I buried the roots of the plants into the soil 🤗 Just digging the hole took me about a full day! I also decided to pick up some more vegetable plants to add to the garden as I have much more space to work with outside.


What's in my garden?

  • Snap Peas

  • Beans

  • Tomatoes

  • Strawberries

  • Rasberries

  • Blueberries

  • Lettuce

  • Cabbage

  • Jalapenos

  • Red Peppers

 

After Thoughts


a few tips:

  1. some plants are better off in pots!

  2. growing food attracts animals! Use fencing, nets, and organic material to deter pests!

  3. if you start inside, try your best to control moisture levels

  4. use mulch or some sort of covering to separate the plants leaves from the dirt. It protects roots from heat and prevents moldy leaves.

  5. Things will get messy😂

  6. have fun! if you make it more about getting it done it becomes less enjoyable, so have fun while you're out there!

The strawberries are the only plant to start flowering a producing fruit but I'm hopeful for progression in the near future! More garden updates coming later this month:)


-K.B.☕️❤️

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page